Scientific name: Araneae

Phylum: Arthropoda
Higher classification: Arachnid
Rank: Order
Lifespan: Goliath birdeater: 15 – 25 years, Brown recluse spider: 1 – 2 years, Southern black widow: 1 – 3 years
Diet: Carnivore

Spiders are air-breathing arthropods that have eight legs and chelicerae with fangs that inject venom. They are the largest order of arachnids and rank seventh in total species diversity among all other orders of organisms.
Male spiders identify themselves by a variety of complex courtship rituals to avoid being eaten by the females. Males of most species survive a few matings, limited mainly by their short life spans. Females weave silk egg-cases, each of which may contain hundreds of eggs. Females of many species care for their young, for example by carrying them around or by sharing food with them. A minority of species are social, building communal webs that may house anywhere from a few to 50,000 individuals. Social behavior ranges from precarious toleration, as in the widow spiders, to co-operative hunting and food-sharing. Although most spiders live for at most two years, tarantulas and other mygalomorph spiders can live up to 25 years in captivity.

Different kinds of SPIDERS:

Texas Bug Team
 469-319-BUGS (2847)